Blog Post #7

When I began this course, I had no idea what I was getting into. I have learned so much throughout my inquiry process and the things we have read have contributed to my understanding of how to approach writing diverse cultures. I am in a very different place now than I was before I started the course. I had no idea how complex writing about cultures could become. I learned that I am a very systematic writer and I don’t love to be pushed outside of my comfort. I thought that it wasn’t okay to write from perspectives that I could not understand myself, but through the readings we have completed I have found ways that could accurately represent other cultures.

I fell in love with Adiche and the things she has to say about the role of females in our society. She says, “show a people as one thing, as only one thing, over and over again and that is what they become.” This quote inspired me and I reference it every time I think about the danger of a single story. The perspective brought forth in On Black Sister’s Street opened my eyes and helped me develop what I believe to be the most important human trait, empathy. I have spent much of my time on this earth trying to see people for who they are, rather than as the labels society has branded them with. Maya Angelou says, “prejudice is a burden that confuses the past, threatens the future and renders the present inaccessible.” I have constantly checked my privilege throughout this process and made sure that I was not tokenizing or misrepresenting cultures I didn’t understand.

I think I have done a really good job of pulling the reader in by using personal experience to guide my writing. I have found my voice through my writing and really learned a lot about myself throughout the process. I have written with a purpose because all of the prompts and assignments required me to establish a purpose. I think I accomplished many of my self-set goals because I did go out of my comfort zone and created work that I am genuinely proud of. I thought that I would learn more descriptive language and how to portray my thoughts better, but I’m still struggling with that area.

Leave a Reply

